log in

Teaching Excellence Awards 2017

On Wednesday 17th May, USSA celebrated the 8th Annual Teaching Excellence Awards (TEAs).

The awards provide students with the opportunity to show appreciation for their teachers, and how they have gone above and beyond expectations in delivering learning and teaching across the University.

Over 130 academic staff nominees were joined by University of Strathclyde senior management and the USSA Executive at the awards ceremony, hosted by Vice President Diversity Simran Kaur.

Teaching staff were nominated in three main categories.

Most Supportive Teacher Award recognises staff putting incredible amounts of effort into supporting students throughout their studies.

Most Innovative Teacher Award celebrates their methods of helping students relevant course materials, while encouraging them engage with their course outside of the classroom.

Most Enthusiastic Teacher shows the incredible passion they provide for the student’s subject areas, as well as bringing their course to life.

The winner of this year's Overall Best Teacher was awarded to Dr Penny Haddrill (faculty of science). On behalf of all the students at Strathclyde, we congratulate Penny, all other winners and everyone nominated for their outstanding efforts.

Best Overall Teacher


Francesca Perazio

Hugh Gallagher

John Levine

Ben Pickard

WINNER - Penny Haddril

Most Enthusiastic


Antonio Hurtado

Vanesa Sabala

Ian Towle

Phil Taylor

WINNER - Francesca Perazio

Most Supportive Lecturer


Juliet Wilson

Juliane Thamm

Robert Collins

Caroline Verdier

WINNER - Ben Pickard

Most Innovative Teacher


Julia Darby

Elizabeth Macaulay

Matt Stickland

Mark Post

WINNER - Conor McBride

Best in Faculty- Business


Andrew Marshall

Idil Edes Gallop

Niall Mackenzie

Alex Dickson

WINNER - Juliette Wilson

Best in Faculty- Engineering


Ashleigh Fletcher

Matthew Cartmell

Mike Murray

Mike Anusas

WINNER - Christine Switzer 

Best in Faculty- HaSS


Alan Morris 

Cedric Moreau

Melanie McCurry

Vanesa Sabala

WINNER - Hugh Gallagher

Best in Faculty- Science


Gian-Luca Oppo

Konstantinos Liaskos

Mohammud Foondun

Owain Millington

WINNER - Katharine Carter

For the full list of nominees please see here.

  • Sorry!
  • No current events :(
  • ...
  • But check soon!

The Nido Collection


USSA, 90 John Street, Glasgow, G1 1JH, The University of Strathclyde Students' Association is a charity registered in Scotland, No:SCO05914